Double Standards or Not?

I have said I will post my own views here and this is one of my biggest bugbears about non dog people.

There is an area close to me that is designated as a dog path.  The actual path is clean most of the time but the longer grass does get pooed upon by the dogs and  isn’t necessarily picked up every time. This does not seem a problem to me as it is not a child play area, they have their own area, nor is it a ramblers path.Unfortunately it is adjacent to the local sports fields and there are plenty of gaps for dogs to get through.

While I agree that if my dog goes on to the pitch then I should (as a responsible companion) clean up after them, why does it not go the other way? There is a campaign and extra police/dog wardens assigned to check up on us at the moment, yet nothing is said or done about the amount of rubbish left after some sport event. This rubbish as well as being unsightly gets blown on to the dog path making my walk  feel like I’m walking through a rubbish tip.

Yesterday there was a Rugby match taking place (which apparently our local team won) and the amount of coffee cups, plastic bottles and other general detritus left behind was quite disgusting. Now, considering that dog mess acts as a natural manure and will be broken down by insects over a relatively short time, something that plastic definitely does not do, which is the worse offender?

There are rubbish bins either side of the fields, so why are there no signs say ‘please bin your rubbish’ ? why is this not’policed’ by the sports teams that are playing? If a dog walker was seen not cleaning up they would be reported and possibly fined. So I ask do people think there is there a double standard? and if so, what can be done about it?

2 thoughts on “Double Standards or Not?”

  1. 🙂 The biggest one for me is cows muck (in the fields not on the pavement) and the fact that Zuleika thinks its a tasty snack when we’re out walking. Seriously, I agree all detritus should be picked up before Englands description of ‘a green and pleasant land’ becomes ‘a dirt brown and smelly’ land.

    Like

Leave a comment